AABP Honors Dr. Virginia Fajt

AABP selected Dr. Virginia Fajt (center) for this year’s Award of Excellence. ( John Maday )

During its recent annual conference, the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) honored Texas A&M University veterinarian Virginia Fajt, DVM, PhD, with the AABP Award of Excellence.

This award, established in 1989, recognizes one veterinarian each year for:

  • Contributions to continuing education for bovine practitioners.
  • Active participation in organized veterinary medicine and/or specialty boards.
  • Relationship with and contributions to the bovine industry.
  • Publications that have had a significant impact on the practice of bovine medicine in the past two years.
  • Regulatory or legislative activities during the past two years that have enhanced the practice of bovine medicine.

Dr. Fajt specializes in clinical pharmacology, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics, antimicrobials and antimicrobial resistance, student learning and outcomes assessment. At Texas A&M, she teaches undergraduate, graduate, and veterinary professional courses in pharmacology, and she collaborates on clinical research related to anti-infectives, antibiotic resistance, anesthetics, and contraceptive drugs in various species, including dogs, cats, horses, pigs, cattle, sheep, and goats. She currently chairs the American Association of Bovine Practitioners Committee on Pharmaceutical and Biological Issues, and she is President-Elect of the American Academy of Pharmacology and Therapeutics and President-Elect of the Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine Association. She also serves on the editorial advisory boards of the Veterinary Journal and the Journal of Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics.