Steve Lewis, DVM, of Canyon Texas, received the top honor AABP Bovine Practitioner of the Year during the recent AABP Annual Conference in New Orleans. The award, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc., honors a veterinarian in active practice who is active in organized veterinary medicine and who has made significant contributions to bovine medicine.  

Other 2015 AABP award winners include:

Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine
(Dairy) Dr. Daryl Nydam, Freeville, N.Y.
(Beef) Dr. Arnie Hentschel, Harbor Beach, Mich.

AABP Award of Excellence
Dr. David Smith, Mississippi State University

Zoetis Distinguished Service Award 
Dr. Glenn Rogers, Aledo, Texas

Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award 
Dr. Dean Christianson, Ashley, N.D.

James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders 
Dr. Elliot Stevens, Lincoln, Neb.

Also recognized at the luncheon were the recipients of the $5,000 AgriLabs Dr. Bruce Wren Continuing Education Award: 
(Beef) Dr. Anita Varga, Carpay, Calif.
(Dairy) Dr. Gabe Middleton, Orrville, Ohio

Read more about the AABP awards.