Dr. Dave Smith, Mississippi State University, receives the 2015 AABP Award of Excellence.
Dr. Dave Smith, Mississippi State University, receives the 2015 AABP Award of Excellence.

The top honor for the Bovine Practitioner of the Year award from the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) was given to Dr. Steve Lewis, Canyon, Texas, at the 2015 AABP Annual Conference in New Orleans, La., Sept. 17-19. The award, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc., honors a veterinarian in active practice who is active in organized veterinary medicine and who has made significant contributions to bovine medicine.  

Several other bovine veterinarians were also honored at the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon on Sept. 19. They are:

Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine

This award recognizes recognize individual member practitioners or practices that have developed outstanding preventive medicine programs. Because of differences in management goals and needs, one award is given to recognize an outstanding program for dairy production, and one for beef production. The 2015 recipients are:

·         (Dairy) Dr. Daryl Nydam, Freeville, N.Y.

·         (Beef) Dr. Arnie Hentschl, Harbor Beach, Mich.

AABP Award of Excellence

Sponsored by AABP, recipients must be involved in teaching, research, industry or government areas. The recipient’s professional activities must have had a consistent and direct influence on daily activities of veterinarians in bovine practice. The 2015 recipient is:

·         Dr. David Smith, Mississippi State University

Zoetis Distinguished Service Award

The recipient of this award is an individual who, through long and continued service, has promoted the goals of the AABP and whose accomplishments have served as a model for service to bovine agriculture through organized veterinary medicine. The 2015 recipient is:

·         Dr. Glenn Rogers, Aledo, Texas

Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award

The recipient of this award is an AABP member who has been engaged in the field of veterinary medicine for at least 25 years and has served as both advisor and role model to pre-veterinary and/or veterinary students. This award is given to a member who embodies this spirit whether in practice, the clinic, or the classroom. The 2015 recipient is:

·         Dr. Dean Christianson, Ashley, N.D.

James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders

This award is for a deserving AABP member within 10 calendar years of graduation from veterinary school. Recipients will have given extraordinary service to the AABP in a manner that significantly enhances the mission of the organization. The 2015 recipient is:

·         Dr. Elliot Stevens, Lincoln, Neb.

Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame

The Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame annually recognizes one beef and one dairy veterinarian for their lifelong commitment to bovine veterinary medicine. This award is sponsored by AABP, the Academy of Veterinary Consultants, Bovine Veterinarian, Merck Animal Health and Osborn Barr.

·         (Dairy) Dr. Jenks Britt, Bowling Green, Ky. 

·         (Beef) Dr. Gary Rupp, Oak, Neb.