The top honor for the Bovine Practitioner of the Year award from the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) was given to Dr. Mark Hardesty, Maria Stein, Ohio, at the 2014 AABP Annual Conference in Albuquerque, N.M., Sept. 18-20.

The award, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc., honors a veterinarian in active practice who is active in organized veterinary medicine and who has made significant contributions to bovine medicine.

Several other bovine veterinarians were also honored at the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon on Sept. 20. They are:


Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine

This award recognizes recognize individual member practitioners or practices that have developed outstanding preventive medicine programs. Because of differences in management goals and needs, one award is given to recognize an outstanding program for dairy production, and one for beef production. The 2014 recipients are:


  • (Dairy) Dr. Nick Chuff, Ilian, N.Y.
  • (Beef) Dr. Dan Goehl, Canton, Mo.



AABP Award of Excellence

Sponsored by AABP, recipients must be involved in teaching, research, industry or government areas. The recipient’s professional activities must have had a consistent and direct influence on daily activities of veterinarians in bovine practice. The 2014 recipient is:


  • Dr. Hans Coetzee, Iowa State University



Zoetis Distinguished Service Award

The recipient of this award is an individual who, through long and continued service, has promoted the goals of the AABP and whose accomplishments have served as a model for service to bovine agriculture through organized veterinary medicine. The 2014 recipient is:


  • Dr. Jesse Goff, Iowa State University



Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award

The recipient of this award is an AABP member who has been engaged in the field of veterinary medicine for at least 25 years and has served as both advisor and role model to pre-veterinary and/or veterinary students. This award is given to a member who embodies this spirit whether in practice, the clinic, or the classroom. The 2014 recipient is:


  • Dr. John Fetrow, University of Minnesota



James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders

This award is for a deserving AABP member within 10 calendar years of graduation from veterinary school. Recipients will have given extraordinary service to the AABP in a manner that significantly enhances the mission of the organization. The 2014 recipient is:


  • Dr. Callie Willingham, Chandler, Ariz.



Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame

The Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame annually recognizes one beef and one dairy veterinarian for their lifelong commitment to bovine veterinary medicine. This award is sponsored by AABP, the Academy of Veterinary Consultants, Bovine Veterinarian, Merck Animal Health and OsbornBarr.


  • (Dairy) Dr. Maarten Drost, Gainesville, Fla.
  • (Beef) Dr. David Bechtol, Canyon, Texas.


Find out more about AABP awards and past recipients at For more information on AABP, visit