Dr. Dwight Wolfe, a professor at Auburn University’s College of Veterinary Medicine, has been recognized by a veterinary website as one of 20 influential farm animal veterinary professors nationally.

Vet Tech Colleges (www.vettechcolleges.com) developed the list, which includes faculty in farm animal science and veterinary medicine from 14 different universities across the U.S. They were selected based on their active teaching, publications, research and speaking engagements, and their extracurricular involvement in the farm animal field.

Respected internationally in the field of Theriogenology, Dr. Wolfe is board-certified by the American College of Theriogenologists and has served as president of that organization as well as the Society of Theriogenologists. His numerous awards include recognition by Auburn University as a Distinguished Alumnus (2012); the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (2010); induction into the Alabama Livestock Hall of Fame (2006); and named Alabama Veterinarian of the Year by the Alabama Veterinary Medical Association (2004).

He is a 1977 graduate of the College of Veterinary Medicine, and returned in 1983 as a faculty member, where he has remained.

In 2006, he was recognized for his contributions to the college and the veterinary field with the naming of the Wolfe Barn at the J.T. Vaughan Large Animal Teaching Hospital.