AUBURN, Alabama - Live and silent auctions, a first-ever raffle, member donations and an inaugural 5K Stampede fun run combined to raise over $60,000 for the Amstutz Scholarship Fund at last week’s 2013 Annual Conference of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners in Milwaukee, Wis.

This year, nine veterinary students received scholarships of $7,500 each from the Amstutz Scholarship Fund, named for the late Dr. Harold E. Amstutz.

AABP’s live and silent auctions included 90 items donated by members, veterinary student organizations, industry partners and friends of AABP. Highlights of the live auction which was held during the Friday evening event sponsored by Zoetis, included a gator hunt in south Louisiana, a colorful handmade quilt featuring breeds of cattle, original artwork and a bronze bull sculpture. The live and silent auctions doubled the money raised from last year.

One of the most fun scholarship fundraising events was the 5K Stampede on a trail in downtown Milwaukee along Lake Michigan. Despite the chilly morning 175 runners were up to the task, including one dressed as a cow and some students adorned with cow ears and ear tags. Novartis and Charleston|Orwig sponsored the run which brought in $4,000 to the fund.

Additionally, a first-time raffle featuring an AABP quilt and two free registrations for the 2014 AABP Conference in Albuquerque added to the funds. 

Dr. Jim Floyd, chairman of the AABP Amstutz Scholarship Committee, said, “We had excellent success fundraising this year through individual AABP members asking for donations from members, industry and allied businesses. Last year’s proceeds were about $27,000, so we more than doubled our fundraising for the Amstutz Scholarship Fund this year.”

Recipients of the 2013 Amstutz Scholarships are:

  • Patrick Brinson, North Carolina State University
  • J.D. Folsom, Oklahoma State University
  • Kate Huebner, University of Pennsylvania
  • Rachel Ann Lyons, University of California
  • Lee Michels, University of Minnesota
  • Lindsay Oxby, University of Guelph
  • Emily Sabo, Cornell University
  • Aaron Schaffer, Kansas State University
  • Holt Tripp, Oklahoma State University

Find out more about the award at For more information on AABP, visit