The American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine Foundation (ACVIMF), in partnership with the Veterinary Pharmacology Research Foundation (VPRF), announced today a new call for proposals for animal health studies with a pharmacologic focus.

The strategic partnership between VPRF and ACVIMF began in 2009 in an effort to solicit, review, and administer research grants with a pharmacologic focus. “The Veterinary Pharmacology Research Foundation (VPRF) was formed by the governing bodies of American Academy of Veterinary Pharmacology (AAVPT) and the American College of Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology (ACVCP) in June of 2006. These organizations recognized that the lack of funding for basic pharmacology research was limiting both growth and innovation in the development of new veterinary therapeutics and the number of trained researchers in the field. As such, they sought to invest their collective resources in the growth of veterinary pharmacology through research grants and training programs.” Jane Owens, President, VPRF.

The first call for proposals went out in November 2009. Since then, the partnership has awarded over $70,754 to five ACVIM Board-certified researchers along with their research team members. The first VPRF grant was awarded in June 2010 to Drs. Kenneth Simpson, Melanie Craven, and Belgin Dogan from Cornell University for the development of a novel amikacin delivery method for treatment of E. coli associated with Granulomatous Colitis of Boxer dogs.

In 2011, the second grant was awarded to Drs. Butch KuKanich and Kate KuKanich from Kansas State University for a study to determine the effect of CYP inhibition on tramadol disposition and pharmacological effects in dogs. In 2012, Drs. Chen Gilor and Christopher Adin of the Veterinary Clinical Sciences Department at the Ohio State University received funding for evaluating Exenatide extended release in cats. Grant monies were also awarded to Drs. Jennifer Myers, Janice Bright, Christopher Orton, Daniel Gustafson and Christine Swardson Olver from the College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Colorado State University for evaluation of the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of Apibaxin in cats. The 2013 VPRF funds were awarded to Dr. Dawn Boothe, and resident Jacqueline Gimmler of Auburn University for establishing terbinafine doses for treatment of canine Malassezia infection.

The 2014 call for VPRF grants encourages investigators to submit proposals that focus on research to evaluate the safety, effectiveness and duration of effect of therapies for veterinary species, explore new drug therapies for animals, develop and validate methods of evaluating effects of drugs in animal diseases or conditions, or ensure that a safe food supply is not compromised by drug therapy. As this grant is a partnership between veterinary internists and VPRF, collaborations between pharmacologists and Diplomates of ACVIM are strongly encouraged.

The call for grant proposals will close August 4, 2014. For more information, visit