Live and silent auctions, a raffle, member donations and a 5K Stampede fun run combined to raise over $60,000 for the Amstutz Scholarship Fund at last week’s 2014 Annual Conference of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners in Albuquerque, N.M.

This year, 10 veterinary students received scholarships of $7,500 each from the Amstutz Scholarship Fund, named for the late Dr. Harold E. Amstutz.

AABP’s live and silent auctions included over 130 items donated by members, veterinary student organizations, industry partners and friends of AABP. Highlights of the live auction which was held during the Friday evening event sponsored by Zoetis, included a deer hunt in Texas, custom boots, original artwork and a bronze bull sculpture. Auctioneer Bryan Mergen led the bidding which brought $11,250 for one item, E.I. Medical’s Ibex Lite Ultrasound System.

One of the most fun scholarship fundraising events was the 5K Stampede on a trail in the Rio Grande Valley. It was a beautiful morning for more than 150 runners, including one veterinarian dressed as a chili pepper. Novartis and Charleston|Orwig sponsored the run that contributed to the Amstutz Scholarship Fund.

Additionally, a raffle featuring an AABP quilt and two free registrations for the 2015 AABP Conference in New Orleans added to the funds. 

Dr. Jim Floyd, chairman of the AABP Amstutz Scholarship Committee, said, “The continued success of this year’s fund raising efforts for the Amstutz Scholarship demonstrates the strength of the commitment of AABP’s members and industry partners to recognize and encourage our student members to choose careers in service to animal agriculture through bovine veterinary medicine. The Amstutz Scholars are the ‘best of the best.’ Their selection allow us to recognize those students who are already demonstrating outstanding leadership potential as well as superior scholarship and clinical skills.”

Recipients of the 2014 Amstutz Scholarships are:

  • Cody Anspach, Purdue University
  • Tyson Buyer, University of Saskatchewan
  • Rebecca Calder, Cornell University
  • Amanda Emery, Purdue University
  • Jennifer Holle, University of Wisconsin
  • Nick Lemmel, Colorado State University
  • Lauren Scruggs, Auburn University
  • Peter Strassburg, University of Wisconsin
  • Jonathan Wesson, North Carolina State University
  • Todd Winzer, Washington State University

Find out more about the award at