In recognition of his commitment to the animal health industry and inspiring students and others in veterinary medicine, Merck Animal Health and the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) presented Robert H. BonDurant, D.V.M., with the Mentor of the Year Award at the recent AABP Annual Conference.

The award honors an individual who has dedicated his or her career to educating, mentoring and advancing the careers of students in the field of bovine veterinary medicine.

Dr. BonDurant was honored with a commemorative plaque during the AABP Annual Conference and will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to next year’s AABP conference.

 “Dr. BonDurant’s scientific contributions to veterinary medicine and his ongoing work as a student mentor are remarkable and deserving of recognition,” said Norman Stewart, D.V.M., livestock technical services manager for Merck Animal Health. “We commend his dedication and ability to inspire students across the globe, as well as the honor, integrity and respect he demonstrates to his students every day.”

Mentee of Dr. BonDurant, Jennifer Walker, D.V.M., Ph.D., Dipl. ACVPM, presented him with the award. “When it came to mentoring, for Dr. BonDurant it was not about a student, it was about every student,” said Dr. Walker, director of dairy stewardship for Dean Foods. “His interest is always genuine, his evaluation always true, and his advice always, somehow, remarkably on point.”

Dr. BonDurant is a professor emeritus of food animal reproduction at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, where he was the chair of the Department of Population Health and Reproduction from 1993 to 2008. For more than 30 years, Dr. BonDurant has played a key role in mentoring countless undergraduate and veterinary students in both veterinary and animal sciences. He received a Bachelor of Science and Doctor of Veterinary Medicine from UC-Davis. In 2004, Dr. BonDurant received the UC-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine Alumni Achievement Award.

Dr. BonDurant is the seventh recipient of the Mentor of the Year Award, which was instituted in 2007.