Compassion, dedication, creativity and determination are the unifying traits that describe the 18 individuals and organizations honored at the American Veterinary Medical Association’s (AVMA) Annual Convention, July 19-23, 2013 in Chicago, Ill. Each recipient has worked tirelessly to improve the lives of both animals and people across the country and around the globe.

This year’s award recipients are:

AVMA Award

James Brandt, DVM                           

2013 Leo K. Bustad Companion Animal Veterinarian of the Year Award

Benjamin Hart, DVM, Ph.D.

2013 AVMA Animal Welfare Award

Leslie D. Appel, DVM

2013 AVMA Humane Award

Mark Tinsman         

2013 AVMF/AKC Career Achievement Award in Canine Research

Kenneth W. Simpson, BVM&S, Ph.D., DipACVIM, DipECVIM-CA

2013 AVMF/Winn Feline Foundation Award  

William Murphy, Ph.D.

2013 AVMA Lifetime Excellence in Research Award     

Gustavo Aguirre, DVM, Ph.D.

2013 Inaugural William F McCulloch Award for Excellence in HAI Practice or Education

Elizabeth Ormerod, BVMS, MRCVS, FRSA

2013 Distinguished Scholar Award

Harold Herzog, Ph.D.

2013 AVMA Public Service  Award                                                                       

Millicent Eidson, MA, DVM, DACVPM

2013 AVMA Meritorious Service Award 

Cathy King, DVM, MS, Ph.D.

2013 AVMA Advocacy Award 

U.S. Rep. Kurt Schrader                 

2013 XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize

Corrie Brown, DVM, Ph.D., DACVP         

2013 Karl F. Meyer-James H. Steele Gold Headed Cane Award

Yoshihiro Ozawa, DVM, Ph.D.

2013 Karl F. Meyer-James H. Steele Gold Headed Cane Award                     

William McCulloch, DVM, MPH                                 

2013 AVMA President’s Award   

Link Welborn, DVM, DABVP

2013 AVMA President’s Award   

Donald F. Smith, DVM, DACVS                          

2013 AVMA President’s Award

American Association of Equine Practitioners                            

For more information including biographies of each award recipient, visit the AVMA web site.