AABP student members receive thousands in scholarships

 Resize text         Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

Amstutz ScholarsGeni Wren(L-R) Thomas Cully, Matt Mundy, Tracy Quirk, Dr. Jim Floyd, Andrea Eilenfeld, Henry Reinart and Ryan Rademacher. Not pictured, Kristen Clenney and Katrina Thompson. At the 45th Annual American Association of Bovine Practitioners  conference last week in Montreal, AABP and its industry partners awarded tens of thousands of dollars to veterinary students across the U.S. and Canada.

2012 Amstutz Scholarship recipients
The 2012 American Association of Bovine Practitioners Amstutz scholarships were awarded to veterinary students at the 44th annual AABP meeting. Out of 52 applicants, nine students received $7,500 each.

The  2012 Amstutz scholars are:

  • Kristen Clenney, University of Missouri
  • Thomas Cully, Cornell Universtiy
  • Andrea Eilenfeld, Ohio State University
  • Matt Mundy, Mississippi State University
  • Tracy Quirk, Washington State University
  • Ryan Rademacher, Oregon State University
  • Henry Reinart, Michigan State University
  • Katrina Thompson, University of California-Davis
  • Abigail Wirt, University of Minnesota

Pfizer Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship Fund
Pfizer scholarship winnersGeni Wren(L-R) Front row: Rebecca Domenigoni, Dallas Duncan, Amanda Wagoner, Kathryn Bach, Emily Waggoner, Lindley Reilly; Back row: Roger Saltman, DVM, Caleb Jenkin, Tim Gibbs, Jacob Geis, Judd Sims, Travis Allen, Eric Rooker, J. Oliver Irons, Rob Kelly. Not pictured: Jonathan Klemme, Brooks Butler Pfizer Animal Health and the AABP Foundation awarded 15 veterinary medicine students with a $5,000 scholarship. Travel and lodging costs also were provided to the scholarship recipients to attend the AABP Annual Conference.

In the last four years, the AABP Foundation – Pfizer Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship Fund has awarded $412,500 in scholarships to 78 veterinary students.

The 2012 scholarship recipients are:

Travis Allen – Washington State University
Kathryn Bach – University of Pennsylvania
Brooks Butler – Kansas State University
Rebecca Domenigoni - Western University of Health Sciences
Dallas Duncan – University of Illinois
Jacob Geis – Iowa State University
Tim R. Gibbs – Washington State University
J. Oliver Irons - Auburn University
Caleb Jenkin – Auburn University
Jonathan Klemme – Texas A&M University
Lindley Reilly – University of Wisconsin
Eric J. Rooker – University of Wisconsin
Judd Sims – University of Florida
Emily Waggoner – University of Georgia
Amanda Wagner – Ohio State University

Merck AABP Bovine Veterinary Student Recognition Awards
Merck Scholarship winnersGeni Wren(L-R) Henry Reinart, Rebecca Domenigoni, Emily Waggoner, Lindley Reilly, Scott Nordstrom, DVM, Oliver Irons, Grant Fontenot, Lesley Kirschten Liane and Levi Smith. Eight bovine veterinary students from across the U.S. each received $1,500 and an all-expenses-paid trip to the AABP annual conference. The award is sponsored by Merck Animal Health.

2012 recipients are:

  • Rebecca Domenigoni - Western University of Health Sciences
  • Grant Fontenot - Louisiana State University
  • J. Oliver Irons - Auburn University
  • Leslie Kirschten Liane - Iowa State University
  • Lindley Reilly - University of Wisconsin
  • Henry Reinart - Michigan State University
  • Levi Smith - Michigan State University
  • Emily Waggoner - University of Georgia


AABP Foundation - Cargill Animal Health Scholarships

Geni Wren(L-R) Dusti Small, Amanda Wagner, Emily Waggoner, Jacob Geis, Charlies Gardner, DVM, Jared Ranly and Travis Allen.

  • Travis Allen, Washington State University
  • Joel Anderson, Ohio State University
  • Jacob Geis, Iowa State University
  • Jared Ranly, Texas A&M University
  • Dusti Small, University of Florida
  • Emily Waggoner, University of Georgia
  • Amanda Wagner, Ohio State University

Visit the AABP section at www.bovinevetonline.com and www.AABP.org to see additional information on the 2012 AABP conference.

The 2013 AABP conference will be held Sept. 19-21, in Milwaukee.

Prev 1 2 Next All

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left